Book 12: Living Dead in Dallas – Charlaine Harris

Summary: Waiting tables, sweeping floors, reading minds and solving mysteries for the undead. It’s all in a day’s work for Sookie…

Cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse is on a streak of real bad luck. First, her co-worker gets murdered and no one seems to care. Then Sookie is attacked – and poisoned – late one night by some weird and apparently mythical beast. She only survives because the local vampires roll up and graciously suck the poison from her veins (like they didn’t enjoy it). But in return the blood-suckers need a favor.

Which is why Sookie ends up in Dallas, using her telepathic skills to search for a missing vampire, on the condition that her undead friends don’t do anything, well, vampiric while she’s there. Easier said than done. All it takes is one delicious blonde and one small mistake for things to turn deadly… (source: Goodreads.com)

Book 13: Club Dead – Charlaine Harris

Summary: Things between cocktail waitress Sookie and her vampire boyfriend Bill seem to be going excellently (apart from the small matter of him being undead) until he leaves town for a while. A long while. Bill’s sinister boss Eric has an idea of where to find him, whisking her off to Jackson, Mississippi to mingle with the under-underworld at Club Dead. When she finally catches up with the errant vampire, he is in big trouble and caught in an act of serious betrayal. This raises serious doubts as to whether she should save him or start sharpening a few stakes of her own … (Source: Goodreads.com)

 

Personal Opinion: I’ve been watching True Blood (the TV series) and am a tiny bit addicted…which made me decide to read the books as well. Most of the time, this doesn’t work for me, because when I already know as story from a movie, it’s hard for me to finish the book because I already know what will happen. So I always try to do things the other way around. However, I discovered these books through the TV series, so I didn’t have a choice. The first book wasn’t really impressive, and I kept comparing the series to the book. Which was really annoying. With book 2 & 3 the stories are continuing to be different from the TV series, which makes it easier for me to keep the two apart 🙂 The writing style is very simple, which annoyed me in the beginning. All the short sentences and the quick emotions without much background were bugging me, but after a while I got used to it and the storyline itself just keeps on getting better. I especially like the role of Eric in the books…in the TV series he’s a bit more on the background in Sookies life and she’s all over Bill, but in the books she really does have feelings for him. Eric is so funny sometimes and I love his sarcastic humor 🙂 I can’t wait to find out what happens next, in both the books and the TV series! True Blood will start again next week with Season 4, yay!

